Management in regards to Vaccinations

Recently, I worked alongside a fellow classmate on a research paper that discussed the importance of vaccinations in the United States. During my research, I learned that 10.9% of Americans are still uninsured and do not have access to vaccinations due to the fact that they simply cannot afford the immunizations. Also, I found that there is a stigma regarding vaccinations because some people lack correct information and believe things such as that “vaccinations can cause autism” which is utterly untrue and proven wrong. As I began to finish my research, I began to wonder what role healthcare manager’s play in regard to vaccinations. I believe that healthcare managers could provide more promotion for vaccinations in order to educate the public on its benefits. Also, hospitals should provide free or affordable vaccinations so the individuals who lack insurance can benefit from the vaccines and hopefully stay healthy. A huge part in eradicating disease, is ensuring that the population at large is receiving vaccinations. A free clinic or affordable prices for vaccinations would allow for a higher percentage of citizens of the United States to be immunized which would hopefully lower the risk diseases for the overall population.

 

Check out this link! http://money.cnn.com/2017/03/13/news/economy/uninsured-rate-obamacare/index.html

One thought on “Management in regards to Vaccinations

  1. I appreciate your sentiments. I personally believe vaccinations are important in health care, but they aren’t a total panacea. (Even though I get the flu shot every year, I caught the flu last year). I will also ask how you think a hospital should finance vaccinations? The hospital must pay for the vaccinations. How do you think they could ‘make up’ for offering them for free?

    Like

Leave a comment